Ligue 1 Team of the Season 2016-17 Official- UNFP Team of the Year 2017

The Ligue 1 Team of the Year 2017, as voted for the UNFP has been officially revealed. PSG, who had eight players in the 2015-16 Team of the Season, have only three players in the 2016/17 edition- an indication of how tightly fought Ligue 1 has been this season.

The three PSG players in the team are Cavani, Thiago Silva and Verratti. Nice and Lyon have one representative each- Jean Michael Seri for OGCN and Alexandre Lacazette for OL

Verratti and Thiago Silva are the only players to have been named in last season’s list too.

Ligue 1 Team of the Year 2017– Subasic (Monaco), Mendy (Monaco), Thiago Silva (PSG), Glik (Monaco), Sidibe (Monaco)- Seri (Nice), Verratti (PSG), B.Silva (Monaco)- Lacazette (Lyon), Cavani (PSG), Mbappe (Monaco)

Monaco have been the surprise packages in France this season- they look set to dethrone PSG and also reached the last four of the Champions League. No surprise then that ASM dominate the UNFP Team of the Season with 6 players- Subasic, Sidibe, Glik, Mendy, Bernardo Silva and Mbappe all feature in the list. Few online gambling sites would’ve expected such a fantastic year for the Principality outfit this season- knocking out the likes of Man City and Dortmund out of European competition, but here we are. Any success for them next season will depend on whether or not they manage to keep these players together again- a tall order we reckon, given what happened to the club after their historic 2003-04 CL campaign.

Ligue 1 Team of the Year 2016 17

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *